top of page
  • Juanita Myers

The Rise of Nicholas Cain Ch. 3

Chapter Three

"After young Cain had been found barely alive, lying in a puddle of his mother's blood. He was rushed to the hospital. Though he had survived his step-father, his sister wasn't so lucky. After that tragedy, he had been shuffled around foster homes. He decided that living on the streets was no worse than the homes he had been placed in. So, he ran away and stayed on the streets. He would hang out wherever he could to avoid being caught by authorities. I met him once on the front steps of my building. He was a scrappy little shit." Langston said as he laughed at the memory.

"Hey, mister! What do I got to do to get a fancy suit like that?" The young boy asked as he walked up to the well-dressed man.

"Well, now I don't believe you would ever be able to afford such a suit young man." The man said with disdain on his face.

"Yeah, well my father always said not to judge a man in his current situation," Nicholas said with disdain of his own.

"Well then, my apologies." Said the man with surprise. "Where are your parents, young man?"

"I don't have any parents," Nicholas replied.

"Well, shouldn't you be in school somewhere?" The man inquired.

"I don't like school much, they don't teach me much. You saying I got to go to school to get a fancy suit like that?" Asked Nicholas.

"It helps to know how to read and write. Arithmetic wouldn't hurt you to know as well." The man said with a smirk.

"Arithmetic, that's math. I'm pretty good at that. I can read and write too." Nicholas said with a smile. " You were trying to trick me."

"Well, now. I suppose I can't pull one over on such a smart young man now can I?" Smiled the man. "I tell you what. I will give you your first assignment." The man said as he pulled out a pen and paper from his pocket. "You find this book and read it from cover to cover. Then I want you to write a three-page report and bring it to me." The man said with the same smirk as before.

Nicholas took the paper and read the title to himself. He looked at the man with distrust. "So who do I give my report to?" Nicholas asked with a crooked brow.

"Langston, Mr. Langston." The man said.

"And that is you, Mr. Langston?" Asked Nicholas.

"Yes, that is me. Now run along and find that book. I will be expecting your report in one week from today." Langston said as he walked away.

Nicholas looked down at the paper again, tucked it in his pocket. He looked at the man in the fancy suit. He knew that the man was arrogant and had no faith in him. Nicholas smiled at the man and ran off.




Comentarios


bottom of page