top of page
  • Juanita Myers

Aftermath: Dane Ch. 2


Chapter Two

Everyone enjoyed dinner, laughing, joking and cutting up. Abigail had a great time with her uncles. She was happy to see her dad laughing too. She walked over to Cain. "Dad, I'm glad to see you having a good time. I haven't seen you smile in a while."

"This is your day, Baby Girl. I want you to be happy. Don't worry about me." Cain said affectionately.

"In that case, where's that gift you said you had for me?" Laughed Abigail. "Well, right to it then." Replied Cain. "Okay everyone, Abigail wants her gift now. Will you all join us down stairs."

Everyone took the private elevator down to the garage. They all laughed and joked as they walked, but Dane noticed the look on Cain's face. Cain had broken out into a sweat. Dane became more concerned over this gift of Cain's.

Cain walked over to a car that was covered. Not an inch of it was visible. Cain turned to the group. "Abigail, I know what you asked for. I just hope you're not too disappointed."

Cain pulled the cover off the car. When he looked at the group again he wasn't quite sure of everyone's reactions. Abigail began to squeal with happiness. The look on Dane and Loki's faces was not one of pleasure. Brant stood motionless.

"That's not. Please tell me that's not. Just please." Dane begged in a weak voice trying to hold himself up.

Loki was bent over, holding his chest. "Holy shit! I think I'm going to be sick."

"You found it. How? Where? When?" Brant questioned, a little panicked.

"Everybody just hold on. Let's all calm the fuck down and take a breath. No, it's not the same car. I swear." Expressed Cain, with his hands held up. "Abigail asked for a car just like it but I couldn't find one. It's close, but no, it's not her car. I'm sorry, it's the only thing she asked for."

"I'm sorry, this was my fault. I thought that if dad looked for one just like her's, by some chance he might actually find the real one. I didn't mean to upset everyone. I just thought if we could find the car we would find her." Abigail told them.

"Kiddo, that's not going to happen. I'm sorry. We all miss her but finding that car won't bring her back. She's dead." Dane had tears in his eyes.

"Bull shit! You can't say that! Not one damn one of you found her body, her car or the man that claimed he found her car in his pond. So work harder and you all need to get your heads out of your asses! Now, I'm going to test drive my new car!" Abigail screamed, then got in her car and started the engine.

"How long has she been holding on to that one?" Brant asked.

"Five years." Said Loki.

"I really didn't realize that was her plan the whole time. Fuck!" Cain said as he rubbed his face with both hands.

"Hold up shorty!" Dane said as he jumped in the car with Abigail.

Abigail floored it as Dane closed the door. She drove fast. Dane struggled to buckle himself in as she took a turn so fast the tires squealed.

"Slow the fuck down, Abby!" Demanded Dane.

Abigail didn't slow. She went faster. Then she found a place to pull over. She slid to a stop. "She's alive."

Dane sat staring at her like she grew two extra heads. All color drained from his face. Abigail couldn't tell if it had been her driving or the words she said. They both stared at each other for a long time.

Dane chose his words and tone carefully. "Why do you think she's still alive?"

"I've seen her," She said plain and clear.

"What?" Dane said as he grew paler.

"I've seen her. I saw her today at my graduation. I'm not crazy. She was there." Abigail said, looking at him with confidence.

"Okay. You need to help me understand." Dane said calmly.

"It's not like every day. Just on special occasions. Like really big ones. Like the one that matters. I saw her for the first time two years ago. I was studying on the school grounds. I was sitting on my jacket on the ground. It was also my birthday. I was kind of mad at dad again. I looked up from my book and saw this woman sitting on a bench. She was wearing a suit. Long blonde hair and sunglasses. She looked odd and out of place. She was just staring at me. I waved at her. She waved back. I started reading again. I looked again and she was still there just watching me. I got up and started walking towards her then you pulled up. That's when she got up and left." Abigail explained.

"That still doesn't explain why you think it's her," Dane said calmly.

"I saw her again that December. This time dad showed up. She took off when she saw him. I've seen her two other times not counting today. Today she was on the balcony. She stood in the front. I waved to her, she waved back. Then she walked past where you sat and brushed your shoulder. I had hoped it was her way of letting me know she was back." Abigail told Dane.

"This could be someone fucking with your head, Abby," Dane said now more concerned.

"We are the only ones that know she's supposed to be dead. Who would know to fuck with my head?" She asked.

"Anyone willing to go after your dad. But most of his employees and Langston's employees know she was killed." Dane said thoughtfully. "If she was still alive, she wouldn't take a chance on coming back here."

"Why not? I see the looks you and Loki give one another. What are you guys hiding? Dad would be happy to have her home. He loves her. He needs her. I need her." Abigail pleaded.

"Baby Girl, I know you miss her but she's gone. I want her back too." Dane said.

"Stop dodging. What don't I know? You all are at each other's throats. Brant spends more and more time away. Loki's been gone for weeks. Dad has lost his mine. He won't even look me in the eye." Abigail told him. "Why wouldn't she want to come back here? What are you not telling me?"

"Some bad shit went down the night you got shot, Abby. I don't think you are ready to know. We've all tried to protect you from all the secrets." Dane said solemnly.

"Well, you know what? Fuck your secrets, mom and I had some of our own." Abigail spat defiantly.

"Oh, you think you got secrets," Dane said with his brow cocked and a mischievous grin.

"Hell yeah, I do," Abigail said as she crossed her arms confidently.

"So, tell me what this secret is." Dane said.

Abigail looked at Dane sideways. "You know it doesn't work that way. Right?"

"Abby, baby, I know you think you know something but this is real fucked up shit. I don't want to be the one to change your view on your family." Explained Dane.

"And by family, you mean my dad," Abigail responded.

"Come on kid, this is bad shit, it's all fucked up," Dane said with pain in his eyes. "Just give me some time to think this over, maybe talk it over with Loki and see what he thinks. Please."

"Fine. But I'm not telling a soul what my secret is till I get some truth." Abigail told him.

"Fine, but can we go home now? I think I shit myself" Dane said, running his hand through his hair.


4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Letters to john #2

John.                                                                                                            4/23/2022  The past two...

Letters To John #1

(Read in heavy British accent) July 28, 2022 Dearest Jonathan,    I do hope this letter finds you well. I am as well as one can be with...

コメント


bottom of page