top of page
  • Juanita Myers

Aftermath: Loki CH. 5

Chapter Five

A few days had passed. A few hundred calls received from Alex. Loki sat contemplating on whether he should give Dane a call. Wondering if Cain might have any jobs for him. Thinking that a long haul might be good for him when his phone rang. Not recognizing the number, he answered anyway. "Yeah, what ya got?"

"Loki, old friend. It's been a while, how the fuck are you?"

"Hound? Is that you? I thought you got yourself killed." Loki said, sounding shocked.

"I had a few close calls, but I'm still kicking." Hound chuckled.

"What has you calling, man?"

"How do you feel about a field trip? I could use you on a project."

"Where and when?"

"South Carolina and as soon as you can get here. And keep it on the down-low," Hound told him. "I'll text you the location. I'll give you the details when you get here,"

"Fine by me. Anything special I need to bring for this field trip?" Loki asked.

"Just you my friend, just you."

"I'm on my way" Loki hung up his phone. Almost immediately he received Hound's text with an address. Then another text that said "Just you"

Loki packed a small bag. Dressed for the long trip. He never went anywhere without his gun and had no plans changing the habit. He grabbed the extra ammo and his leather jacket. After stuffing all his things into the saddlebags of his Harley, he started the engine. Loki pulled away from the small house without looking back.

After days of travel, Loki rolled into the driveway of the address Hound had sent him. He cut the engine. It wasn't what he had expected. It was the home of your average middle-class American. A well-kept lawn with a few toys for a toddler. Every toy pink. The door opened and out came the cutest little girl with curls all over her head. "Goldilocks" Loki thought.

As soon as the girl was out the door and down the steps a man was hot on her heels. He scooped her up, placing her on his shoulder. She giggled. The man wore nice clean jeans, work boots, and a button-up shirt. His hair was clean-cut, beard nicely trimmed. "Well, now, you haven't changed much" He said to Loki.

"What, are you playing house now?" Loki asked with a snicker.

"Nope. It's the real deal, man"

Loki looked up to see a young woman standing at the door. She was blond like Goldilocks. She waddled out onto the porch. "Honey, bring in your friend and introduce us." She told Hound as she rubbed her rounded belly.

"We'll be right in, darling."

She turned, waddling back into the house.

"First I have to give you the ground rules. Don't call me Hound. She hates it. It brings bad memories. Next, no potty-mouth language around Shorty." The curly-headed tot giggled again.

"No, drugs of any kind in the house" Hound expressed.

"Alright then, what do I call you then?"

"Call me Luke."

"What about weapons?" Loki inquired.

"Guns and knives are fine as long as you keep them out of the reach of Shorty"

"Well then, Luke, let's go meet your girl," Loki said with a sly grin.

"My wife's name is Casey and this little giggle box here is Sadie," Hound said as he lifted Goldilocks off his shoulders, planting her feet on the ground. Taking her hand he looked at Loki. "Come on uncle Loki, let's meet the wife and see the house."

Loki chuckled as he swung his leg over the bike, following Hound into the house. "Uncle Loki. I like it."

It had been a long day. Pleasant introductions, a tour of the house, and a nice family dinner. The kitchen had been cleaned. A bedtime story for Goldilocks, and Mama Bear went off to bed. Loki followed Hound down to the basement for a late-night beer.

"So, what's the story?" Loki asked.

Hound smiled. "Right. There's always a story."

"Like you said. There's always a story and there's always a woman," Loki pointed at him with the bottle then drank.

"To be honest she was a job." He said as Loki gave him a sideways glare. "Hold on, don't get your panties it a twist." Hound sat in a chair. "Remember that last big party at the warehouse? The one you came to."

"Yeah"

"Well about a week after, this guy comes to me in need of my services. Some asshole politician. He pays me thirty thousand dollars to hunt down some chick. Tells me she's trying to blackmail him. Said she wanted money or she was going to scream rape, tell the media and his wife. He wanted it to look like an overdose" Hound took a deep breath. "What I found was a terrified 17-year-old girl who had been raped and was on the run with her unborn child. He had already tried and failed to kill her. But he had others looking for her too. She was going to try having that baby on her own." Hound rubbed his face before continuing. "When I found her she had already been in labor for two days. She was alone. If I had just walked away, they probably would have died anyway. Loki, I looked into those beautiful eyes of hers and I just couldn't bring myself to leave. I think his plan was to have me do the dirty work. Then I take the fall."

Loki walks over with concern on his face. "Is that why you called me? Are they in danger now?"

"Oh, no man, trust me I took care of that shit. Cleaned up real good"

"Are you sure? You know I got your back man"

"I know, brother. I just need you to understand the change. Sadie's my heart. I fell in love with her mama. But that child stole my heart when I caught her in my arms"

"Are you telling me you delivered that baby?" Loki asked with eyes wide.

"Yes, then I went to work," Hound said with seriousness etched on his face. "While they hunted her I started hunting them. I took them all out. Then I took out the politician. Made it look like he overdosed in a whore house. Then I started the rumor that I had been killed. I cleaned myself up and began a new life. I'm completely legit now. I run my own private investigation company. I don't do assassinations. I get paid well for what I do and I have a stockpile in various places."

Loki nodded. "I get it, but why am I here?"

Hound looked at the time. Then looked at Loki. "You and I, my brother, have a field trip in the morning. Get some sleep."

"Are you serious? You just going to leave me hanging like that?"

"I’m going to crawl into the bed with my gorgeous wife. Hey whatever happened to that cute chick from the party?"

Loki growled his displeasure at the mention of Alex. He ignored Hound as he stomped up the stairs. Loki went to the guest room he had been appointed to. "Goodnight Luke" Loki said sarcastically as he closed the door.

"You just going to leave me hanging like that, brother?" Hound chuckled.


2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Letters to john #2

John.                                                                                                            4/23/2022  The past two...

Letters To John #1

(Read in heavy British accent) July 28, 2022 Dearest Jonathan,    I do hope this letter finds you well. I am as well as one can be with...

コメント


bottom of page