top of page
  • Juanita Myers

The Journal Affair: CH. 2



After crying herself to sleep, Bridget woke the next morning alone. Kyle had come in late some time during the night, sat on the small couch in their suite and passed out. She could hear his loud snoring across the room.

It was still early and she wanted to do some work on the laptop. Getting dressed quickly, putting her hair into a ponytail and slinging her laptop bag over her shoulder, she was ready to go down. On her way out the door she picked up the bag from the book store, knowing it still had her wallet, phone, and journal in it.

Strolling to the elevators she saw the saucy redhead from the day before. She wore a skintight dress and black stiletto heels. The woman had a coffee in one hand and a rolling suitcase in the other. She looked as though she was leaving.

The redhead looked at Bridget. "Aren't you the one that fell in the pool last night?"

"Yep, that was me," Bridget responded.

"I hope you didn't get hurt." The woman said, hitting the button again.

"Just my pride." She muttered.

"Everyone cheered when you kicked him in the pool." She giggled. "You should have seen him trying to get out of the pool."

"How mad was the other one?" Bridget asked.

"Oh, while he was trying to help him get out he fell in to. It was pretty comical." The redhead laughed.

"Well, shit, I guess I'm in trouble too." Bridget huffed.

"Fuck that! What they did to you. Hell, they deserved it." The redhead said. "By the way my name is Tamara." She told her, holding out a hand to shake.

"Bridget. Nice to meet you." She said, taking Tamara's hand.

The doors dinged as they opened. Both women stepped onto the elevator. Taking the ride down in silence. As the doors opened again Tamara looked at Bridget.

"It was nice meeting you. And again, they deserved it. Now I'm off to New York. I hope the rest of your weekend is better." Tamara told her as pulled suitcase behind her.

Bridget took a seat at a table, placing her laptop bag on it. She went to get herself a cup of coffee before she began to work. It was only seven a.m. and she knew she could a few hours of work in before Kyle woke. She returned to her table with the coffee. Setting down, she removed the small bag hanging from her arm.

Thinking she could write in the journal before she started working, Bridget removed her phone and wallet. Reaching in again, she pulled out the book she had bought the night before. Panic flooded her. Where had she left it?

"Oh, no, this is not good. Think Bridget!" She told herself. She gathered her things. Thinking she may have left it near the pool she went that way. Her hopes were dashed when she found the chair empty. The only other place she could check was the front desk. Going back inside, she approached the young woman at the desk. "Excuse me. I left a journal by the pool last night. Has anyone turned one in?" She asked.

The woman looked around the counter. She looked in a few cabinets. Then pulled a box that said lost and found. "No, I'm sorry, I don't see anything like that here. I will be sure to let you know if someone does."

Taking a deep breath. "Thank you, yes and please let me know. I'll be here a few more days." Bridget told her. She sat again at a table. Feeling sick about losing her journal, she sat trying to think. Being at a loss, Bridget began her work on the computer.

Three hours past and Bridget had not see Kyle. Looking up from the screen to rest her eyes. Seeing a man delivering flowers to the front desk, she looked away. She watched people coming and going. Taking it all in when she heard a woman's voice.

"Ma'am, is your name Bridget Evans?" The desk clerk asked.

Bridget looked at her with surprise. "Yes, it is."

"You have a delivery," she told her.

Bridget moved toward the counter.

The man delivering the flowers turned to her. "I believe these are for you. I was also told this was for you as well." Handing her a small package with her name written across it.

She looked around hoping to find Kyle. "Maybe he didn't forget after all," she thought. Setting down the elaborately made bouquet of roses. There were so many different colors of roses. She was surprised at how many there were. Laying down the package to free her hands, she opened the card.

"My Dear Bridget,

I hope these beautiful roses brighten the rest of your weekend.

Your dear friend"

"Well, shit, these aren't from Kyle," She thought to herself. She sat staring at the flower in shock. She was disappointed that they had not come from her own husband. She was lost in thought when she heard Kyle break through.

"Hey, baby" Kyle said.

Tucking the card under her thigh. "Hey, you're up early."

"Yeah, I told Merle I'd help him with some stuff today" He said as he kissed her forehead.

"What? Are you serious?" She asked with disappointment.

"I don't know when I'll be back, so enjoy quite time away from the kids" He said as he started walking away.

"Really, that's all you got?" She asked.

"What?" He looked at her.

"Thanks for the roses" She said waiting for his response.

"I didn't get you roses. Why would I do that? I only do that on special occasions?" Sounding more like an ass.

"Oh, my mistake. Tell Merle I said happy anniversary." She said with a wave of her hand.

Kyle shrugged his shoulders and continued out the door. Bridget slapped her hand over her face. "Damn, I even gave him an opportunity and he still hasn't figured it out." She said out loud.

Bridget collected her things and went back to her room. Setting the roses on the small round table in the room, kicking her shoes off, she flopped on the bed. Feeling defeated, she reached for the package that had been left for her. There was nothing on it of significance other than her name written on it. She opened it to find her journal. She was so excited to have it, she began flipping through the pages to write something when she saw someone else's handwriting.

"My dear Bridget,

I hope you will forgive my intrusion of your privacy. However, I couldn't resist the urge to get to know you better.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Letters To John #1

(Read in heavy British accent) July 28, 2022 Dearest Jonathan,    I do hope this letter finds you well. I am as well as one can be with...

Comments


bottom of page