top of page
  • Juanita Myers

The Rise of Nicholas Cain Ch. 4

Chapter Four

"I clearly underestimated the boy," Langston said with a mild chuckle. "I entered my building four days later. My front desk receptionist flagged me down. She handed me an envelope with my name written across it and said that a young boy brought it by. He had insisted that she give it to me as soon as I returned to my office. I took the envelope, expecting the worst. Tucking it in my pocket, I continued to my office. Once I entered my office and sat down, I opened the envelope. I must admit I was surprised and impressed. The boy had written a five-page report on the book I told him to read along with a note telling me where he could be found and the time he would be there in the event that I wished to discuss his report."

Nicholas sat in a chair next to the window at the library. He was reading a book he had found an interest in. He had realized that if he sat quietly and did not cause any trouble, no one paid him any attention. He stayed mostly in the back unless he used the restroom. Only once had someone questioned him about not being in school during school hours. Nicholas had been crafty with his answer and told them that he was homeschooled. He then told them that his mother had left him to do research on a paper that was due in two weeks. That person had been satisfied with his answer and left him alone. Since then he had managed to scrape up enough money to get some supplies for his cover. He would lay out a notebook, pencil, and eraser while he read books, occasionally making notes.

Mr. Lagnston walked into the library hoping to spot the boy. He had expected the boy to be reading comic books. Langston walked toward the back where he knew he would find the tables and chairs. He was even more impressed to find the boy sitting in a chair reading an actual book, a good one at that.

"Youngman." Langston quietly announced.

Nicholas looked up at the man. Realizing it was the man with the fancy suit, he marks his book. Then stood to greet the man.

"Hello, sir," Nicholas said.

"Son, I expected to find you looking at comic books. I was impressed with the report you wrote and your penmanship was excellent." Langston said to the boy.

"My father told me if I was going to do something, do it right the first time," Nicholas said with pride.

"Now, you told me you didn't have parents," Langston said questioningly.

"I don't Sir. My father died in the army. My mother died last year." Nicholas said.

"I see. Who are your Guardians?" Langston asked.

"I don't have any Sir. I was in foster care but they would just take the money that the government gave them and not take care of me. So, I ran away. Are you here to turn me in?" Nicholas asked nervously.

"No, son, I'm not," Langston said.

Nicholas relaxed a little. He was ready to run if he had to. He sat down when Langston did. Nicholas began asking the man questions and taking notes as he went along. Mr. Langston had been the only man he knew that was wealthy. Nicholas took the opportunity to learn what he could from this man in hopes that he could move up in this sad world he had been born into.

"Son, do you have a place to stay, a bed to sleep in?" Langston asked.

"Yes sir, I'm staying at my friend Ruby's place," Nicholas responded.

It wasn't a complete lie. Ruby was his friend and she did let him stay at her place sometimes. Only it really wasn't her place. It was her pimp's place. Ruby was only seventeen years old. She had found him sleeping in the hall of her apartment building. She had brought him to her small grungy apartment to keep warm.

"How old are you son?" Langston asked.

"Almost eleven years old," Nicholas said, coming out of his thoughts.

"Do you have any family at all I can call for you?" Langston asked.

"No sir, my mother's parents are dead and my father's parents didn’t want anything to do with me. I'm fine on my own." Nicholas assured the man.


7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Letters to john #2

John.                                                                                                            4/23/2022  The past two...

Letters To John #1

(Read in heavy British accent) July 28, 2022 Dearest Jonathan,    I do hope this letter finds you well. I am as well as one can be with...

Comments


bottom of page