top of page
  • Juanita Myers

The Rise of Nicholas Cain Ch. 8

Chapter 8

"It had been quite a surprise to see young Cain in my lobby with a baby in his arms, a diaper bag on his shoulder and pushing a stroller," Langston said with a chuckle. "That boy had pride on his face. He had come to see me about a job. He said he needed a real job to continue providing for his daughter. I tell you that boy was dedicated to making things work that he wanted them to."

"Well, I told him he had no experience. He had never had a public job of any kind. However, he had done some questionable things to make money. I brought the boy into my office. He was determined to have a job with me before he left my office. And he had a job when he walked out of my office. "Langston said with a smile.

"That young man had negotiated the next two years of his career. He offered to work for me for six months with no pay. After six months, if I found his work satisfactory, then I would pay him the minimum. If I was still satisfied with his work, I would allow him to continue his work with me with a suitable raise for another year. He was convincing." Langston said, thinking back.

"Didn't that defeat the purpose of getting a job to support his daughter? I mean you can't pay the bills without money." Said the woman sitting across from Langston.

"Well, to most it would seem that way. However, young Cain had made quite a name for himself on the streets. He needed a way to make a name for himself in the business world. He had money, but he needed a legitimate career. He spent those two years learning everything he could to start his own corporation and in time his own empire. He was a billionaire by the time he was twenty-three. I was so proud of the young man that I had hoped he would marry my own daughter someday. It wasn't until the end of those two years that he told me about how he had acquired the child." Langston said with a nod.

"How did he get away with it? Keeping the child, I mean?" asked the woman.

"We had built trust between us. And so he told me what he had done. In turn, I helped him acquire the paperwork to make things legal." Langston responded.

"Mr. Langston, we are almost to your stop." Langston's driver announced.

"It seems our time is short. I know you haven't come to see me for an interview on Mr. Cain. So, what can I do for you?" Langston said to the woman he had been sharing his ride with.

"Thank you for enlightening me, but you would be correct. It seems you still owe me a favor. I've come to collect." The woman announced.

"Yes, I do seem to remember you saving my life some time ago. I'm an old man. Nearing the end of my time. There isn't much more I can do in my life. However, I will do what I can to assist you." Langston said to the woman as he held her hand as she got out of the limousine.

"Thank you, Mr. Langston, we shall meet again soon. I would also appreciate you keeping my secret and I shall keep yours. Oh, and please call me Lisa." She said as she walked down the sidewalk.

Langston stood on the sidewalk, in the rain. Watching as she walked away. "She's changed." He thought aloud. "Cain's going to have his hands full," Langston said as he chuckled.


4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Letters to john #2

John.                                                                                                            4/23/2022  The past two...

Letters To John #1

(Read in heavy British accent) July 28, 2022 Dearest Jonathan,    I do hope this letter finds you well. I am as well as one can be with...

Commentaires


bottom of page